Page 2 of 3

Posted: 24.02.2023 18:30
by Stefan
Cannot get it to work. This is the error I get in the output panel:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "D:\Toolbox\CudaText\py\cuda_backup_file\cd_bk.py", line 350, in copy_bk_or_compare
subprocess.Popen(diff, shell=vrn_data['dfsh'])
File "subprocess.py", line 858, in __init__
File "subprocess.py", line 1311, in _execute_child
FileNotFoundError: [WinError 2] Das System kann die angegebene Datei nicht finden
ERROR: Exception in CudaText for copy_bk_or_compare: FileNotFoundError: [WinError 2] Das System kann die angegebene Datei nicht finden
And this is my entry in the field Diff command:

Code: Select all

"{App_Drive}\Toolbox\WinMerge\WinMergePortable.exe" "{COPY_PATH}" "{FILE_PATH}"
The path to my WinMerge should be correct, because this works in External Tools:

Code: Select all

Filename: {AppDir}..\..\WinMerge\WinMergePortable.exe
Parameters: "{FileName_g1}" "{FileName_g2}"

Posted: 24.02.2023 19:03
by main Alexey
But you entered in wrong case: it must be uppercase {APP_DRIVE} ..

Posted: 24.02.2023 19:19
by main Alexey
And it was my bug too. now fixed, tested on linux. update the Git repo:

- 'plugins / addons manager / update'
- here you must see 'Git' near 'Backup file'
- check this item, OK btn in dialog
- restart Cud

Posted: 24.02.2023 19:25
by main Alexey
New python code writes to the Console:
"Backup File runs: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx"
so if diff-command won't run , see this line - tell me?

Posted: 24.02.2023 19:27
by Stefan
No "Git" to be seen on the whole update-dialog window.
Maybe because when I installed it, I could not select "Clone" as recommended (it threw an error), and so I selected Zip instead. Which seemed to work fine.
In any case, I don't get to see any "Git".
Should I simply un-install, restart, and install again?

Posted: 24.02.2023 19:36
by main Alexey
>Should I simply un-install, restart, and install again?
yes! If you did not 'clone'.

Posted: 24.02.2023 19:53
by Stefan
Got it to work. Flawless, it behaves as it should.
I tried various conditions and files, and also another Compare tool with different commandline parameters. No problems. Cuda handed the files over, as expected. NICE! :)

I don't think it is necessary to test the other macros (filename parameters for backups etc) since you did not change anything in that area of the code. Or did you?

Posted: 24.02.2023 19:55
by main Alexey
I did not ...

Posted: 27.02.2023 14:46
by Stefan
Regression Alarm:
{APP_DRIVE} stopped working. And it is no longer listed under the Help-button of the plugin. I am sure it was mentioned there. Might have lost it when I updated Breadcrumbs via the update dialog. Did not pay attention to what other plugins it was updating.

Posted: 27.02.2023 14:55
by main Alexey
Guess you updated (but actually reverted) from Addons Manager? check that you get it from Git! https://github.com/cudatext-addons/cuda_backup_file