Linux Qt6 Text Selection Glitches in Wayland Sway Desktop

Solved bugs are moved into this topic...
Post Reply
Random Void User
Posts: 52
Joined: 13.07.2024 21:19

Linux Qt6 Text Selection Glitches in Wayland Sway Desktop

Post by Random Void User »

udaText 1.220.5.0, linux-x86_64-qt6, fpc 3.2.3

I mainly want to use the Qt6 version for Wayland. The gtk2 version needs XWayland and uses an old version of GTK at that.

The Qt6 version generally works well. However text selection is off. Sometimes when I select a word, the entire word shift by practically 3-4 characters and it becomes impossible to get useful work done. It appears to me that the pixel calculations during text selection are wrong.

I have not debugged the issue beyond exploring various scale factors for Qt6. Nothing seems to help the issue. I know little about Qt internals. It could be an upstream problem, but I thought I should report it here. Thanks!

Code: Select all

QT_QPA_PLATFORM=wayland
QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=qt6ct
QT_USE_PHYSICAL_DPI=0
XDG_SESSION_DESKTOP=sway
XDG_CURRENT_DESKTOP=sway
main Alexey
Posts: 2404
Joined: 25.08.2021 18:15

Re: Linux Qt6 Text Selection Glitches in Wayland Sway Desktop

Post by main Alexey »

let's try existing options:

a: "unicode_proportional": false
b: "renderer_tweaks__linux":
----- add/remove char "w" (Use simplified calculation of average character width)
----- add/remove char "o" (Calculate 'offsets' for individual characters, ie use slower API to render)

restart app after each change in option.
main Alexey
Posts: 2404
Joined: 25.08.2021 18:15

Re: Linux Qt6 Text Selection Glitches in Wayland Sway Desktop

Post by main Alexey »

if options don't help, tell me your OS distro name + version. i hope it is widespread OS installation so i don't need to setup stuff.
Random Void User
Posts: 52
Joined: 13.07.2024 21:19

Re: Linux Qt6 Text Selection Glitches in Wayland Sway Desktop

Post by Random Void User »

Removing 'w' fixed the issue, it appears. I changed nothing else.

So the current, fixed, working user.json has

Code: Select all

  "unicode_proportional": true,
  "renderer_tweaks": "wos",
  "renderer_tweaks__linux": "s",
  "renderer_tweaks__mac": "s",
Your support is fantastic! Thank you! I'll post again if I discover anything else. At first blush here, I am willing to say PROBLEM SOLVED.
Post Reply