Some more questions/suggestions

tmsg
Posts: 120
Joined: 20.05.2020 12:08

Some more questions/suggestions

Post by tmsg »

@Alexey: I've seen your response in the other thread re wildcards... thanks for the update. Here are a few other things I've stumbled across:

1. I have file A loaded in Cud and then change A in another editor. Currently Cud auto-reloads the file (ui_notif=true) after 10 seconds (I have ui_notif_time=10). I'd much rather have a dialog pop up asking me whether I want to reload the changed file. I've tried setting ui_notif_time to 0 but that didn't do the trick. How can I achieve this?
2. Is there a function (either built-in or as a plugin) to enable autocompletion of all words (or at least for all the words above a certain length) that are in a text? I've found a plugin called Complete From Text which seems to do just that and also found autocomplete_autoshow_chars (and set it to 4) but the latter seems to work only for keywords or other syntactical elements and does no autocompletion for Complete From Text (this plugin works but activating needs Ctrl-Space).
3. The messages in the status bar are not very visible on my screen and I often don't notice them. I've set ui_statusbar_time=10, that helps a little but perhaps it would be possible to add code to make this BOLD AND RED (or GREEN)?
4. I have a hard time to understand what the box in the attached image is actually doing. Whether I press "Don't save / Keep in session" or just "Don't save" doesn't seem to make a difference when I reload. Also when I press either of the two dont-save options I would expect that upon reload I get the original files and not the changed files. Can you elaborate?

Last but not least, if I am getting on your nerves with all these complaints and questions, I do apologise. Just tell me to shut up and I will (well, at least for a while :D ).
1.jpg
Alexey
Posts: 1633
Joined: 05.10.2012 22:10

Post by Alexey »

You can ask many questions, it is Ok here.

plugin Complete From Text works with autoshow option. option is needed NOT in user.json but in lexer specific cfg.
for None lexer, it's "lexer -.json".
(will add this info to Wiki.)

Code: Select all

{
  "autocomplete_autoshow_chars": 3,
}
Alexey
Posts: 1633
Joined: 05.10.2012 22:10

Post by Alexey »

>perhaps it would be possible to add code to make this BOLD AND RED (or GREEN)?
This isn't supported yet. needs some work from me, to add such a color to color-themes, and use color for statusbar's info cell, so user can change his theme.
tmsg
Posts: 120
Joined: 20.05.2020 12:08

Post by tmsg »

Alexey wrote:plugin Complete From Text works with autoshow option. option is needed NOT in user.json but in lexer specific cfg.
I know :D as this is mentioned in default.json. So I added it to my private markdown lexer and also added the lexer name to the plugin config... no joy :(
After what you wrote I double-checked all this and still no joy... until I realised that the lexer has " ^" as a suffix... and now it seems to work :) Perhaps a BIG warning in the wiki to that effect could help. Anyway, all is well now with autocompletion.

The RED thing is NBD in the end. It's just something that would make my life a little bit easier. Or perhaps I will get used to looking more into the status bar ;)

Actually there's very little now that I can do with AkelPad that I can't do with CudaText. And in some respects Cud offers a lot more than AP... not least the Linux version which I will check over the weekend.
Alexey
Posts: 1633
Joined: 05.10.2012 22:10

Post by Alexey »

just added to the wiki:
** For (None) lexer, config file is named "lexer -.json".
** For lite lexers, config files are named with suffix, e.g. "lexer XML ^.json".
Alexey
Posts: 1633
Joined: 05.10.2012 22:10

Post by Alexey »

The RED thing is NBD in the end.
this is strange wish. I mean i didn't see such colored statuses in other editors. Akel supports it?
tmsg
Posts: 120
Joined: 20.05.2020 12:08

Post by tmsg »

Alexey wrote:
The RED thing is NBD in the end.
this is strange wish. I mean i didn't see such colored statuses in other editors. Akel supports it?
No. In AP most of these things are actually simple one-line pop-up message boxes. This has some positive sides as it's impossible not to notice a message box. OTOH a message box can be more intrusive and can distract from the flow of work. I guess it depends how important the message content is. Perhaps a new user.json option to show such messages not (or not only) in the status bar but also in a message box could be another idea.

EDIT: As to "autocomplete_autoshow_chars": 4 for my markdown lexer. It works... but only in a lexer file in the settings directory. If I add this to the lexer file in data\lexliblite\ it doesn't seem to work. Same for wrap_mode. Is that by design?
Alexey
Posts: 1633
Joined: 05.10.2012 22:10

Post by Alexey »

another idea... I don't like this idea. Cud shows status msgs very often (e.g. each jump-to-word-next, each find result, each opening of file, ......)

lexer-specific cfg MUST be in the settings dir, yes, by design.

about your wish to flash found line. we have tools for that:
- changable ui-theme colors
- options show_cur_line*
Alexey
Posts: 1633
Joined: 05.10.2012 22:10

Post by Alexey »

Alexey
Posts: 1633
Joined: 05.10.2012 22:10

Post by Alexey »

>OTOH a message box can be more intrusive and can distract from the flow of work. I guess it depends how important the message content is. Perhaps a new user.json option to show such messages not (or not only) in the status bar but also in a message box could be another idea.

I re-read this text and had the idea. to add Python event on_message which is called on showing anything in statusbar (last cell). added it. will be in next v1.100.6 or 1.101. so you know python? you can make a plugin which gets on_message and creates window and puts msg to this window. non modal window! so user works and window shows. it is better make window which STACKS msgs like in Quake's console. last is visible on bottom. window has fixed height. can be resized by user. saves last size.
Post Reply